Do We have To Choose A Niche?

Do we have to put ourselves in a certain box? Do we have to belong either here or there when we write? Do we have to choose, if we want to write fiction or poetry or just express our feelings in another way?

Why do we have to decide on one way? Why not doing it all or at least a little bit if this and that?

In the end it is about being you and being your kind of creative. It’s about doing what you enjoy and what works best for you.

Thanks OM for kickstarting some thoughts πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Do We have To Choose A Niche?

  1. It’s the outcome of a certain kind of thinking into which we have been conditioned.

    However, if you want to escape and become the most fragrant bunch of flowers lying around – hey, what do you wait for, I wonder? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the answer is both yes and no.

    No, we don’t have to box in our creativity. We shouldn’t. Dabbling in several areas can lead to heightened creativity.

    But at the same time, a person who wants to become a “professional” in their chosen field (an respected artist, a published writer, etc.), then a niche might be necessary. Concentrating energy on one thing is good; developing the craft to a high level of mastery requires concentrated study that (might) not happen if our energies are scattered between several different disciplines.

    (There’s always exceptions, such as Michelangelo, who was a master at painting, sculpture, and architecture. But most of us aren’t geniuses. Most of us have to choose.)

    The same is true even within one discipline, such as writing. I concentrate the bulk of my energy on developing quality fiction; I don’t blog or write poetry, etc., for the same length of time, nor do I put the full force of my creative energy behind them, not the way I do with fiction. (That’s also why I read so much fiction, even though there are lots of non-fiction books I might enjoy. I learn more about writing fiction from reading it.) Other interests, including some that I’m very good at, are shoved aside. I come back to them when I need a break, more to regain my energy than anything else.

    Sorry for such a long comment! Your post prompted a lot of thoughts. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When I worked in the construction field, my specialty was First Aid but when not using my First Aid skills, I put in time as a laborer. When chided by my friends about why I didn’t take the time to become a tradesman, I used to tell them, “A tradesman is just a laborer who only knows one job, a good laborer has to know them all.” Quite seriously, my mind is far too active to confine it to writing about one subject continually. I want to learn about everything, and writing is the vehicle I use to do that. If that means I’ll never be famous, I can live with that, at least I won’t be bored.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Professionally, a niche is important – you need to have a point of difference to market yourself/your writing. If that’s what you’re after (I’m a Marketing Manager by trade, don’t get me started, lol). But it’s not always important.

    I don’t think I fit into a niche with my blog and decided from the outset that I’m good with that, I just want to write what I want to write on a given day. This is a hobby, I’m not chasing stats or dollars, I don’t need to market myself πŸ™‚ On my About page I make a point of saying “This is not a mum blog, a craft blog, a fitness blog, a food blog, nor a photography blog. This is a blog about life.”.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Niches and genres were invented by publishers and others in order to Sell More Product. If you want to Sell More Product, you’ve probably got to play by their rules. Or maybe not. Writing — creating — and Selling More Product are not the same thing. You get to choose what’s more important to you. I hope, I really hope, that the rise in self-publishing and small-press publishing will help break down the walls between niches. Unfortunately, too many readers are reluctant to venture beyond their niches. They’ll only read (e.g.) contemporary romantic fantasies in which the female protagonist has a dog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

