Heading South?

Interesting what very different meanings the word “South” can have. Meaning in the sense of how it can make us feel depending on how it is used. For one there is the “let’s head South” thing. Most probably for all of us related to go on a vacation. For me it most definitely was when I was living in Switzerland.

Deserted beach

You headed South for summer, down to the beaches of Italy, Spain or France. The idea of heading South was strongly combined with a feeling of finally being able to relax, to be in the warmth, eat amazing food and just have a great time. We all know that feeling, right?

And then there is this other way of using “South”, the “when it all goes South” kind of thing. Funny actually, that in this case it points out something negative. If you would use it almost exactly the same way and say “and then we all went South” you might still talk about a good time. The “it all went South” describes how things don’t go according to plan, like when a business stops working properly, when relationships go wrong or when our boobs become less firm than they used to be… You get the picture.

One word, two different meanings. The negative one definitely well described in the Mike Posner’s song. A song I find extremely inspiring. And funny enough it combines the two meanings perfectly well. Ibiza is a place you would head to, when you head South. By the way an amazingly beautiful island and not only a party place. And most definitely it all went South for him back at this point of his life…

I took a pill in Ibiza
To show Avicii I was cool
And when I finally got sober, felt 10 years older
But fuck it, it was something to do
I’m living out in LA
I drive a sports car just to prove
I’m a real big baller ’cause I made a million dollars
And I spend it on girls and shoes

But you don’t wanna be high like me
Never really knowing why like me
You don’t ever wanna step off that roller coaster and be all alone
You don’t wanna ride the bus like this
Never knowing who to trust like this
You don’t wanna be stuck up on that stage singing
Stuck up on that stage singing
All I know are sad songs, sad songs
Darling, all I know are sad songs, sad songs

I’m just a singer who already blew his shot
I get along with old timers
‘Cause my name’s a reminder of a pop song people forgot
And I can’t keep a girl, no
‘Cause as soon as the sun comes up
I cut ’em all loose and work’s my excuse
But the truth is I can’t open up

But you don’t wanna be high like me
Never really knowing why like me
You don’t ever wanna step off that roller coaster and be all alone
You don’t wanna ride the bus like this
Never knowing who to trust like this
You don’t wanna be stuck up on that stage singing
Stuck up on that stage singing
All I know are sad songs, sad songs
Darling, all I know are sad songs, sad songs

I took a plane to my home town
I brought my pride and my guitar
All my friends are all gone but there’s manicured lawns
And the people still think I’m a star
I walked around downtown
I met some fans on Lafayette
They said tell us how to make it ’cause we’re getting real impatient
So I looked em in the eye and said

You don’t wanna be high like me
Never really knowing why like me
You don’t ever wanna step off that roller coaster and be all alone
You don’t wanna ride the bus like this
Never knowing who to trust like this
You don’t wanna be stuck up on that stage singing
Stuck up on that stage singing
All that I know are sad songs, sad songs
Darling, all that I know are sad songs, sad songs

Inspired by the Daily Post Daily Prompt – South

13 thoughts on “Heading South?

  1. Reblogged this on My Self Evident Truths… and commented:
    It’s on my “to do” list to write a post in response to Daily Post One Word tag “South.” Now I can check that off thanks once again to one of my favorite bloggers! Note that this post also contains a “funny” for my sort of weekly feature, Old Fart Friday. Look for it as you read these thoughts about the dual meaning of “Heading South.” For me currently, South means the part of the US where I now live, in Tennessee. This state, however, is not in what we would call “the Deep South” for which I am forever grateful as otherwise I might be more openly attacked for my continuing support for Democrats in general and Hillary Clinton in particular. I still want to head farther south from here on vacation sometime, as I’ve yet to dip my toes in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and see for myself the trendy Florida Gulf Coast beaches I’ve heard so much about since I moved out here from the West Coast.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Author Interview – Dr E Carolyn Tucker – House of Doors: Surviving Love in the Rural South | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

