Share Your World 2016: Week 28

Last week Cee skipped her Share Your World post to take a little time off. Who can blame her? But I have to say I was really waiting for this moment, waiting to head over to her blog and check out what questions she’s asking us this week. The set of question Cee posted come from one of her blogger friends, Emilio from the blog Photo by Emilio . I guess every now and then you need a break from coming up with questions, right? So anyway, please head over and check out Cee’s blog if you have not done so yet. She has many fantastic features on it. It’s one of those treasure box blogs, where you continuously discover new gems.

Here are the questions and my answers:

What is your earliest memory?
See, I wonder often if the earliest memories are really memories or if we only think it’s a memory because we got told the story of this moment so many times… Anyway. I try to think what it might be. I have a couple of memories of moments in my life that are far back. But to be honest I’m not sure what my age was. I know that I was very sick when I was 3 or so because I ate snow and got salmonella from it. I remember the hospital. But then it could be a different memory of a hospital visit. I also remember me walking back in tears from skiing lessons but again I have no clue how old I was then. I must have been younger than five.

Some people claim that they remember things from when they were younger than 5, even younger than 3. I wonder if that is really possible without it being a traumatic moment to remember? Can you really remember things that early?

One of the clearest memories I have from when I was not in school yet (so before 7) was when a friend of my parents visited driving a massive car. I mean one of the huge cars you guys drive in the US. She actually struggled to get to the town we lived in because the turns of the road were almost to narrow for her car. I was outside building a cave in a massive pile of snow. It was one of those winters where we still got meters of snow. When I looked up I saw this massive car and then the tiny lady getting out of it. I’m sure I will never forget this image.

What was the last photo you took with your phone?
Easy. It was yesterday on our 10km hike…

 

Nope, wait, it’s actually a picture of the Turkish bread I made for dinner…


Have you ever danced in the rain?
Oh yes! I did! And I enjoyed it. I often do it actually (see my post here). And why not? I believe that we are not letting loose often enough. And if you decide to dance in the rain that’s what you do, right? You just let go.

In fact, the afternoon before my husband and I had our first date I was dancing in the rain. And then sitting in the warm summer rain. We both worked for an event and when he walked past me he had to laugh and asked me if I’m going nuts. I had to laugh too because he just came back from jumping out a plane, which was a risky jump that day due to the weather up in the mountains. I only shook my head and said that jumping out a plane seemed slightly crazier to me than sitting in the rain. I still wonder what he would have thought if he would have caught me dancing in the rain a couple minutes prior…

What is the longest you have gone without sleep?
And still functioning? Without any sleep? I think I’ve never done more than 36 to 40 hours. You know, when I was young and going out all night… I don’t do well with not much sleep. So the closest I get to not sleep is when we travel. I can’t really sleep on planes anymore. I think I could push myself if I really had to. Like with everything. If you are in a situation where you have to do something you can do it. But if I don’t have to why should I? I’m too old now to just do it for fun and when I was younger I had my horse and needed to be up on my days off too.

Maybe my nights up will start when my kids start going out, when I will sit at home, waiting for them to come back and be safe and sound at home again…

Bonus question: Β What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?Β 
As always I’m grateful for my family and friends. We had a fantastic time going for hikes with the kids and doing some other school holiday things with them and their friends. We caught up with our friends and all of those moments just fill me up with energy. This week we are back to school. Although we homeschool our kids are on the same holiday schedule as their friends are. So they had two weeks off and are now back to their school schedule. All their activities start again. I know this week has some challenges in store for me but I also know that I will handle them. It’s one thing if they suddenly appear but another if you know they’re lurking there. I just focus on the weekend and look forward to looking back at this week, knowing that it’s all done and dusted πŸ˜‰

 

041514 sywbanner

 

24 thoughts on “Share Your World 2016: Week 28

  1. Pingback: Month in Review | All In A Dad's Work

  2. Stupendous post. I could relate to the sitting in the rain bit, only I tend to sprawl in the rain (usually with a camera or just to watch the surf through the curtains of rain). This draws onlookers- an atrocious side-effect. Apparently, if you sprawl about in the rain people assume you are ill, have taken a spill or have recently expired.

    TOO many grins imagining that exchange with your husband, who certainly lives a wild life- leaps from planes in inclement weather AND goes about gawping at tree-climbing goats?!! AND likes lasses who like to go about sitting in the rain all the time??? Definitely embraces the wild side. πŸ˜‰

    Oh dear, I chortled sheepishly when I came to the “massive car” memory. What an image of the tiny lady emerging from the gargantuan machine. Living in the US…the land of gigantic and bloated land-yachts…I could just imagine this metallic hulk (a humongous classic Caddie in my mind) attempting to manage tight curves and narrow roads and nearly bashing into all the tiny cars scrabbling to get out of the way.

    I did the Skypey thing with a friend in Paris (trust me, this IS related, though it seems like I am rambling off on a meandering tangent, now) back in winter (which means I could be outside without melting the laptop) and my matie cried out, “Oh my goodness Toad, the cars there are HUGE. Does everyone in your neighbourhood own a truck?” A parade of trucks, SUVs and giant cars had been barreling by in the background behind me…and I had not even noticed…Oh dear…

    Love the photos from your 10 km hike. I trust that it was exhilarating. Turkish bread looks divine. Nice nibble after such a hike πŸ˜€

    P.S. I am one of those batty people who claim to remember things from infant-hood, let alone early childhood. I have an exceedingly sharp memory for all things irrelevant, especially babyhood memories, which will really give me an edge and advantage in this life, I am sure.

    Chortling cheers,

    smiling toad

    Like

      • Ut oh…I “painted myself into a corner” here… πŸ˜‰ I will just say they go very far back with incredible and very dull detail. Like I said, incredibly useful skill- NOT.

        I have no idea where the compulsion to “quickly, divulge all” came from when I waddled harmlessly onto your blog but OH I am regretting it now πŸ˜‰

        Cheers,

        st

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ha, ha, at this point I usually blame my lapse into extreme babbling on dehydration from the FL heat…but I have used this excuse so often with Marsha (tchistorygal) that it may not be effective anymore…blast! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ah, I envy that πŸ˜‰ Never gets cold enough for brain-frost, here, blast- though the manatees would freeze, which would not be too wonderful. Another very, very sweet mammal, a lumbering one of the rivers and springs. πŸ™‚ I have been bonked over in a kayak by them, a few times. They seem to find kayak-bonking to be an immensely entertaining hobby.

        Hope you are staying warm! Cheers,

        Autumn Jade

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha… imagine them sitting down there in the water waiting for the kayaks to appear and… bonk… probably counting who can bonk the most. I would love to see a manatee in the wild.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Precisely! I swear they huddle under logs and debris and then come popping out of nowhere for a fanciful collision! They really are enchanting and deeply curious. If you ever come to Florida I will certainly take you all to where they will surround you, looking up with those endearing whiskered smiles. The other day, I was surrounded by 8 of the rascals! And, of course, I got bonked πŸ˜‰

        All the best,

        Autumn Jade

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Month In Review | All In A Dad's Work

Leave a Reply

