Once A Homeschooler, Always A Homeschooler: No Bitter Feelings

For me, being a homeschooling parent having finished “normal” school it’s important and interesting to get feedback from people who’ve been “on the other side”. So when Jo made a comment on my blog about being homeschooled I immediately asked her if she would be willing to share her experience, her thoughts on my blog. I truly enjoyed reading Jo’s first guest post. A fantastic take on what teaching and learning is all about, if you’d ask me…

I’m very happy to welcome Jo, blogging at Jo Robin Blog, here as one of my guest bloggers and I can’t wait to read her series of guest posts. Please head over and check out her great blog where she shares her life as a college student and so much more…

(3.9 minute read)

First and second grade were spent in a private school. I was a kid who would pretend to be an entrepreneur during recess and give other kids “tattoos” (by drawing on pieces of plastic with my Crayola washable markers then transferring my drawings to the back of their hands) in exchange for unique rocks. I was a kid who always had questions. I was a kid who would daydream about putting my survival skills to use in the Amazon rainforest and learning foreign languages so I could persuade the head-hunters to hunt somebody else’s head… while my teacher handed out tests that asked questions like, “Do butterflies sing?” or explained to my class that the role of a judge is to determine what is “fair” (I wish I was making this up). I was a kid my teachers hated because I was “disruptive” and “unfocused” and I’m pretty sure they had a magnificent celebration the day my mom took me out of school and donned her “Whoops! I forgot to socialize the kids!” t-shirt.

There are many stereotypes about homeschoolers–if you’re reading this article, you’re probably already familiar with them, but allow me to briefly review. We’re unsocialized. We’re stupid because we spend our days dawdling aimlessly instead of studying. We’re too sheltered and will never be prepared for the “real world.” We’re judgemental, Bible-thumping fanatics. We’re undisciplined, wild children with sticks in our hair. Our parents keep us locked in cast-iron cages in the basement and feed us with foot-long spoons through the metal bars.

I will leave it up to you to judge whether those things are true, after I describe some fruits of homeschooling in my own life (and I know I am not an exception). I’ve earned a Business & Entrepreneurship AAS by the time I was 18. I’ve had my artwork displayed in art shows, and the countless hours I spent playing piano instead of doing “social studies” allowed me to serve my community at school and charity events. I’ve graduated VP of Recording of Phi Theta Kappa with a 4.00 GPA. I’m a sophomore working on a bachelor’s degree. I have a wonderful group of friends (I can even count them on more than one hand) who love to discuss Plato, St. Augustine, G K Chesterton, ancient greek tragedies and comedies, and other worthwhile topics over lunch. I’ve started conversations with some “real school” kids who didn’t know how to start conversations, and who immediately rejected my attempts at friendship the minute they discovered I was homeschooled.

I have no bitter feelings about being homeschooled. Yes, there were times when I felt like my parents kept too tight a grip on me, or I wished I could have spent more time with the cool kids doing cool things, but my parents were simply parenting, and I think they did a fine job. In the future, I’ll write more specifically about what it was like to be homeschooled–socialization, getting into college, accountability and discipline, opportunities for homeschoolers–and my thoughts on all that now that I’ve joined the “real world.” Thank you, A Mommas View, for asking me to be a guest author.

Copyright © 2016 by Jo Robin, https://jorobinblog.wordpress.com/. All rights reserved. 

One thought on “Once A Homeschooler, Always A Homeschooler: No Bitter Feelings

  1. Awesome! I homeschooled my daughter for a few years and worked full time; still do. She started attending a very small, private school last year. Sadly, the school only goes until 8th grade, but we love it and it coincides with my teaching philosophy and they don’t balk when I remove her from testing. We very well may end up homeschooling again for high school. It’s definitely and experience and glad I did this with her. It’s nice to hear from those who made the homeschooling journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

