The Voice Of Your Words

A friend of mine recently told me how she can hear my voice while reading my post. Funny enough, when I read my posts or any email, text or letter I write, I can hear my voice in these written words too.

I hear the joy, the anger, the frustration, the sadness and the happiness I felt while writing. And I wonder how it feels for you… 

You don’t know me personally. You don’t know how my voice sounds or my feelings when I wrote the post. And still I’m sure you hear a voice when you read my words. But can I bring my feelings across? Can I make you understand how I feel while writing? Can I get my feelings across?

I wonder if you hear your voice while reading my words. As if you would read it out loud? 

A couple of weeks ago one of my posts was read out loud by David Snape in his show. It was an incredible feeling to listen to it. To hear the emphasis in his voice, the melody he gave my words. For the first time I realized that my feelings can come across through my words as he made them come alive. 

So if you are unsure about how your posts might sound to someone, if you manage to get your feeling across, find someone to read it out loud to you. I’m sure it will be a good experience for you, hearing the voice of your words…

18 thoughts on “The Voice Of Your Words

  1. Yes, I always hear your voice–but I can’t do the accent (lol). I find it impossible to read something without mentally reading aloud. Of course my blog is a mixture of voice and words so you know exactly how I sound…. does that add anything?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s funny because I recently said the same thing to a blogger. He’s from the UK and I find myself reading it the way I imagine he sounds and in the hurried pace I imagine he writes to get all of his words down because he thinks much more quickly than he writes. What was funny was that someone else had the exact same theme as him and I thought I was on his blog. I was reading the words in his voice but it felt off like it wasn’t him…turns out I was on another blog and I had to start over and read it knowing they weren’t his words and the piece had a completely different tone and the inflections were different. Interesting considering I don’t know either in person so I don’t actually know what they sound like…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. How interesting, I do that too! Most often with my mom. If I’m reading a text from her, I imagine her voice reading it. Sometimes with my other family, but I think her voice leaves the most impression on me. She has her “mom” voice! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Based on the mood/tone of someone writing I construct how I think they would speak. I am fairly new at writing and mostly write about my life and journey with money, but even then my posts take on different tones based on how I am feeling that day. I am not sure if that is good or bad, but I know I have much to learn.
    Your posts are filled with hope and encouragement and you have an upbeat spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree! When I recorded my poems occasionally I noticed from the comments that it was perceived stronger because the personal expression (no matter who reads it) gave it more life!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

