Too Many Trees

There is a saying in German: “Vor lauter Bäumen den Wald nicht mehr sehen” which I think translates to “can’t see the forest for the trees.”

Something that happens to people so often.

When problems present themselves we might get so caught in them that we will not see the solution anymore. We simply can’t see the path any longer, no escape road that presents itself. We feel caught in the middle of all the issues numbing us.

No matter though how dense a forest is, there is always some space left to get through. I’m not saying that it will be easy but it’s doable. As long as we don’t just give up.

When I looked at the above picture the first thing that came to my mind was the above mentioned saying. Don’t get me wrong I think it’s a stunning picture but there is something heavy that it vibrates. I was probably taken in fall, on a foggy day. I can smell the ground when I close my eyes. I can smell the trees, the cold and humid air. I can smell fall. It’s usually something that gives me a good feeling. Then I look at it again and see all those lines of trees. The forest seems so dense. Daunting. Just like a pile of problems might.

I’ve spent so many hours in forests like the one in the picture. I’ve spent days in foggy, chilly fall weather in my life. I’ve spent so many moments breathing in the cold, humid, foggy, fall air in a forest. I know how it feels. I know how it feels when you are well, when life is good, when you are happy, when everything goes according to your plans.

FairyForest

I also know how it can make you feel when things don’t go smoothly. Although most of the time a day out in nature lifts my spirit, sometimes it doesn’t manage to. It’s then when you realize what “can’t see the forest for the trees” is all about.

It’s also then when you need to take a deep breath and let the fresh air clean you from the inside out. It’s then when you need to inhale this fresh air and exhale all the heaviness with it. It’s then when you need to let go of what weighs you down. It’s then when you need to pull yourself up again and try to get a fresh look on things. It’s when you need to look around and find another solution than the one right in front of you that is clearly not working or blocked. It’s then when you realize that there is always a gap between trees. A gap that gives you the opportunity to walk on.

It’s all about perspectives.

Image result for quotes perspectives

#everydayinspiration

8 thoughts on “Too Many Trees

  1. I had that same feeling when looking at that picture. Like an iron fist around my chest. You made it a very good analogy to the situation when sitting in the midst of a problem. We need to step back in order to get into a different energy. As long as we are in the energy of the problem we only see that problem. I love the last quote. Another one is: You can’t solve a problem with the same mind that created it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely true. It’s all about shifting the focus which is sometimes hard to do when we feel smothered or closed in by the trees. Great post with lots to think about Sandra, thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You could not have written this any better, Sandra! So true that – it’s hard not to get overwhelm by things when you are in the middle of it and thinking there’s no solution. Easier said than done, of course and the solution may not be the best at that point in time, but still a step forward I suppose. It’s definitely about perspectives too! And this is a great one that you shared! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: A Re-Blog: Too Many Trees

Leave a Reply

