When You Give Yourself Up

Image result for biggest love

It’s been a long time since being me was a real thing. Sometimes I wonder if I actually only just recently discovered what being me really means. I’m actually pretty sure that’s the case.

And still, sometimes I realize that my thoughts drift away, back to the time where I was just this young person. Where nothing else mattered but me and my thoughts. When there was nobody to look after, to take in consideration. I think back to the days where there were of course my parents and sibling and our pets. And, yes, they take up some space in your heart and thoughts. But not as much as your kids ever will.

I mentioned before that my daughter recently asked a couple of questions about dying and maybe that made me thing about how much feelings we invest in whom.

When I think back I always felt strongly for my parents. Of course you do. But it was a different kind of love than the one I feel for my children now. No surprise there… I think you will never ever experience a stronger feeling than the one you have for your children.

It’s true my love for my children is my greatest strength and also my biggest weakness. Because I love them I can push myself so much further, they make me able to do things I never thought I would be capable of doing. But they also make me vulnerable. They make me vulnerable or weak because their well being comes before everything else. Their safety is the most important thing in my life. Their future is what is the most important thing to me.

You realize you’re willing to give up everything for them. It’s when you automatically put yourself last because everything else would feel totally wrong. It’s when you don’t mind spending all your money on what they need or want and yet again putting yourself last.

I wonder if you would every do the same for your parents. And I wonder if your parents would ever want you to do the same for them.

See, I believe that it wouldn’t be the right thing. I would never want my children to give up everything for me. I would never want them to invest themselves as much in me as I’ve invested myself in them. It’s not right. Not in my opinion.

If you would make a drawing of family you would have two circles. One that is the family you grew up with and the other one is the family you create. Your family. It’s how I see it. Those circles of course overlap. They overlap with the two circles of your spouse as well.

Now picture yourself standing in the middle of those two circles. When you look back you look at the family you grew up with. When you look forward you look at your children.

I believe that’s the direction you should focus on. It’s the direction you should invest yourself in. Not backwards. Your responsibility is “in front” of you and not “behind you”. And I believe that we all kind of live by this idea. That’s why we do invest ourselves that much into making sure our children get what they need. That’s why we give ourselves up to a certain degree.It’s because we want to build them up. It’s about them.

When we are children we feel the strongest for our parents, they are the most important people in our life. If I would ask one of my children they would both tell me that they would give their lives to save me or their dad. It’s something that I definitely don’t want them to do. But then we are the people they love most. So guess puberty is also about that. It’s also about finding that distance, making that room for someone else to come in , someone you will eventually truly be ready to give your life for. Maybe puberty is about letting go. Maybe it is the first step of truly letting go, of detaching yourself just that tiny little bit, taking that first step towards the circle that one day might be in front of you.

If you would have asked who I would give my life for when I was a child, I would have said my parents. Without hesitation. If you would ask me today if I would give my life for my parents I would say no. I only have one life to give and I want to be able to give it to my children, no matter how old they are and not “waste” it on my parents.

I’m aware it sounds very harsh, but honestly, it’s what I would want to hear from my children one day.I don’t want my children to give themselves up for me. Do I want them to care for me, to love me? Of course I do, but giving themselves up? No! It’s too high of a price to pay for them.

I realize that we owe a lot to our parents. They’ve been there for us, they raised us, they looked after us and they gave themselves up for us. Just the way we do it for our children. And understandably that can make you feel like you owe them. Especially realizing what it’s actually all about. Knowing what this gig called parenting is all about. But do you really owe your parents?

When you give yourself up it should be to create a difference. It should be for something that changes something, it should be for something that creates something new. It should be for the future, not the past. I believe that all we actually owe our parents is to invest ourselves the fullest in our children. Do do everything we can to provide them with the right tools, with the right values and with a good life to start off.

We all know that everything we think we give up is not a sacrifice. It’s actually a win in the end…

Image result for quote giving yourself up for your child

 

11 thoughts on “When You Give Yourself Up

  1. Very Sensible Post. We do Our Best for Our Children. But Today it is “A Big ?”. Will they do the same for Us when we are unable to move/work ?
    Hence teach your children to Respect Both the Circles. Parents they Grew Up with Children they will have in the Future.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We owe our parents and their reward is seeing us make the best of our time, being the best we can be with the tools they gave us.
    A parent is challenged when something happens to their child, something that we can’t mend, or take away. Life is precious and can disappear in a breath…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Author Interview – Terri George – The Frost Trilogy, God’s Gift 1: Taking it Stateside & Torn | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. You are coming from the viewpoint of a young mother and I was there once. Mine are 49 and 43. I’ve walked between both circles. I’ve had the privilege of walking parents and parents-in-law through their end days and was grateful for the honor to give back. I would do anything for my children, including setting healthy boundaries with a good dose of tough love when necessary. In the end I agree with you. I do not want my children to sacrifice their lives for me. That wasn’t why I gave them life. Theirs is to live fully as is mine. I have left explicit instructions for my end time. My son will handle my money and my daughter is in charge of making sure nothing is drawn out past my sell by date. Then they must have one heck of a celebration for my well lived life and continue theirs. No sadness, I’m just changing addresses once again.
    I’ve been so far behind in my reading and will probably not catch up but maybe now I can keep up a bit better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

