Caterpillar

Image result for butterfly image

When I think about transformation a caterpillar immediately comes to my mind. Maybe because recently there are quite a few around in this area. Also because it’s most likely the ultimate example for transformation.

What’s first a dull almost worm-like creature that moves in a interesting way turns into this beautiful, colorful butterfly. Ready to rise to heights and fly wherever it wants to go, stunning everyone with it’s elegance and beauty. Now, I know that caterpillars can also look pretty, some of them with vibrant colors and that the way they move is somehow fun to watch too. But compared to a butterfly it’s still not the same. It just seems as if the butterfly has more elegance to it. Has more freedom. Just seems almost royal compared to the caterpillar.

Maybe that’s why the fairy queens in the movies have butterfly wings…

Transformation is everywhere though. It’s not just the butterflies and caterpillars. It’s so much more.

Image result for quote transformation

It’s the newborn, that can’t get from point A to point B, not talk, not feed itself to a little child discovering the world, developing language and finally be able to walk unassisted only to slowly transform into a toddler.

It’s the toddler, that runs but falls, tries to assemble things but fails, forms words but is often not understood only to transform into a young child.

It’s the young child that can finally express its feelings and formulate its questions and demands. It’s the young child conquering the ladder, finally running without falling over every two to three meters, only to transform into a child.

It’s the child getting used to school and its system, slowly learning what math is all about and connecting letters to form words, words to form sentences and sentences to form stories. It’s the child growing its social environment, learning about group dynamic, disappointments and joys only to transform into a teenager.

It’s the teenager struggling with emotions, hormones and boundaries, feeling like being a toddler again, limited in freedom of movement. It’s the teenager realizing that there are two kind of people out there, females and males, learning about love, frustration, emotions, heartache, competition and so many more challenges. Most of all realizing that they are slowly transforming into adults.

It’s the young adult who finally feels like their on top of the world, knowing everything with all opportunities wide open but then realize that not all doors open automatically. It’s the young adult that still grows and develops and transforms even further.

It’s the parent watching their own children transform from a little boy into a man, from a little girl into a woman. Watching them from baby to adult, from child to parent. Watching them playing, chasing a job and then building a career.

All of that while realizing that the transformation will never truly be over as they transition from being parents to being in-laws to being grandparents, observing their children and grandchildren transforming in the same way they did too.

And the circle continues…

Image result for medicinewheel

 

 

17 thoughts on “Caterpillar

  1. Such a beautiful post, Sandra. I could totally relate to it because I have been looking up videos capturing the transition of a caterpillar into a butterfly. The process itself is thought-provoking

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So, I wonder what happens to old butterflies. I am pondering this as I understand and relate to what you’ve written in your current situation of a mom to “tweenagers.” Been there, done that, but now I’m over it so…

    I am a big fan of Drew Barrymore and her philosophy of life so I am sharing these pearls of wisdom about and from Ms Barrymore, who clearly was already an old sole when the article I lifted them from was published in 1998.
    Drew Barrymore loves daisies for the hopefulness they express, and butterflies for the metamorphosis they promise.
    Q: You wrote a book, Little Girl Lost, about being out of control and spending a year in rehab at the age of 13 for booze, pot and cocaine. It’s obvious the way you were raised is not the ideal way to rear a child, though you seem fairly forgiving of mistakes your parents made. What will you do differently?
    A: I don’t think I would have my child be an actor. But some of that forgiveness you mention comes from this: there’s one saintly quality I give to my mother, who, for all intents and purposes I don’t get along with. I’ve only recently realized it in my growing maturity. Had she not given me the opportunities she did–no matter that they might seem from the outside like I was pushed–I would not be sitting here right now. It’s true. In some people’s eyes, she fucked up. I think she did. But she also gave me a weird, inadvertent gift which I have to appreciate and acknowledge.

    Q: Your character in Home Fries loves and accepts her dysfunctional dad–there seem to be clear parallels to your own father, John Barrymore jr.
    A: I could definitely relate to how Sally looked at her dad, which was, I see you just for who you are. And I accept you for that. More importantly, I expect nothing more, because that’s the only way I won’t be let down. I don’t have to worry and I don’t worry. I get snippets of what a lovely person he is. But I also remember he’s that crazy man, the same one I knew when I was a kid. He didn’t take care of me. I don’t take care of him.

    Q: You and Courtney Love have in common the rare achievement of being perceived one way, then reinventing yourselves.
    A: She and I worship butterflies, that drag queen metamorphosis. Madonna was always exciting to little girls when I was growing up because she changed her look every month. It’s not an exterior shallow thing, it’s literally a reinvention of yourself. I think that’s far more wonderful than relying on how wonderful you are all the time and never changing.

    Q: You’re 23 and seem to have been around 30 years. How have you kept audiences and the press from turning on you?
    A: That’s great if they still like me. I don’t know the answer. The only thing I can think is there will never be a tidal wave of glory for me. I pray to be like the ocean, with soft currents, maybe waves at times. More and more, I want the consistency rather than the highs and the lows. I don’t need to be high profile. What I want to do most is continue to work because I’m very happy when I’m working. I love being an employee.

    Q: As you grow into adulthood and put the other vices behind you, will you become boring?
    A: I guess I’m getting old and boring, that’s it in a nutshell. I swear I’d like to do the rave scene, but I tend to work myself so hard I’m exhausted and can’t do anything. There are times I miss the nightlife, but when I feel that way I go out and I party a little bit. (I myself wish, being an old person as I mentioned, that I still had the energy to do something like the rave scene? I wonder if Drew has changed her tune, now that she’s a mom, too.)

    Q: You’ve sipped two glasses of wine during this interview. You had problems early in your early teens, and you come from alcoholic stock. Are you courting problems by drinking at all?
    A: I think it has a huge amount to do with priorities and intentions. Everything starts with intentions. You set your priorities, your responsibilities, and what’s important to you. When you have those things together, self-destruction just doesn’t play a role in your life. Not at all.

    Pretty amazing commentary from someone who first changed from a caterpillar to a butterfly at such a young age, right? And, I think she’s still at it, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • She is a very inspiring and wonderful person, I believe. Thanks for sharing this Q&A. I think us old butterflies just keep getting more and more beautiful (and wiser)… and in regards to the partying… something like the rave scene is no thing for me for a long time anymore. Just too wild πŸ˜‰ I guess, Ms Barrymore has probably arrived at that point too now that she has kids…

      Like

Leave a Reply

