Share Your World – 2016: Week 44

Image result for image halloween

We had a fantastic night with our friends, celebrating Halloween. It’s interesting to see how something can slowly turn into a tradition. When one of our friends, who joined us for the first time for our Halloween gathering asked me yesterday if it’s a tradition I hesitated at first. In a way a tradition takes years to form and we are only doing our Halloween night for the fourth time. And yet, we do it on a regular base, every year. We also have a core group of people we have over. So I guess it merged into being a tradition. While the kids are out trick or treating, accompanied by some of the adults, the rest of us grown ups chat and often a good conversation starts with a question, right? So maybe life and all the conversations we have are just a big Q&A game…

Image result for image thinking

I will think a little bit longer about that but now it’s time for my favorite Q&A in the blogger world: Cee’s Share Your World Challenge. Let’s see what she’d like to know this week:

What was your favorite subject in school?
Definitely languages. I loved learning languages. Swiss German is not a real language, did you know? Well, it is a real language, of course, as it’s used. But there are no books. So depending on where in Switzerland you grow up, your books are either in German, French or Italian and so are newspaper and TV programs. As I grew up in the German part of Switzerland the first language I learned besides the one I spoke was German. Then, when you reach a certain grade you learn one of the other official Swiss languages. In my case it was French. And then, when you are older you will have the option to learn the third Swiss language (which would have been Italian in my case) and / or English.

Image result for image language

The system has changed from what I know and now the kids learn English much earlier and I think it’s mandatory now. Back in my days only French was mandatory where I grew up. Learning English was up to you unless you were planing on going to college.

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for two hours, what would you have them do?
Clean. Yep. Maybe do the laundry too. But hey, if I’d have someone come in every day for two hours why not letting them do the cleaning? I love cooking so that’s out of the question. I will do that. But I wouldn’t mind for someone to take care of the cleaning. One day they could clean the windows, the other day the oven and then just do the normal cleaning and dusting… Oh that would be so nice…

I have a friend who years ago when we had babies told me that she rather hires a babysitter to look after her kids than hiring a cleaner. I could really not understand that. For me it would be the other way around. I would rather hire a cleaner and head out with the kids than cleaning myself while someone spends time with my children. She told me that she just loves things to be done a certain way and that she would waste a lot of time explaining to a cleaner how she wanted things to be done. I still wonder why it would be easier to leave someone in charge of your babies than letting them clean the house. Clean is clean, right? Or is there a different kind of clean? Each to their own…

Image result for gif cleaning

Where did you live when you were in the third grade of school?  Is it the same place or town you live now?
Oh no! A very different place. Back then I lived in Switzerland. Actually I have lived 26 years of my life in the same town. With interruption while studying and then I moved in with my husband in a different place in Switzerland. Now we live all the way on the other side in beautiful Australia. So I went from snow covered mountains to beautiful beaches 🙂

In your opinion, list some places that are great for shopping?
I’m not a huge shopper but I always love shopping in the USA. It’s so much cheaper than it is here and I tend to find the things I like easier. Not sure why.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 
I’m grateful for my family and my friends. I’m also grateful for having spent Halloween with most of them and having seen the kids have fun trick or treating. I’m also grateful that I decided to take my daughter who spent all day yesterday in her costume out trick or treating earlier in the day already before everyone arrived. We hopped in the car and drove to a different area and knocked on doors. She had so much fun and I loved watching her. It messed with my hosting skills a tiny little bit as we only came back shortly before our first guests arrived but hey, nothing beats a happy child 🙂

041514 sywbanner

2 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016: Week 44

Leave a Reply

