Blast From The Past – Be The Change

Now that the end of the year is getting closer we tend to ponder about things that are important to us. About what might be behind the still closed door of 2017 that are about to be opened. We look back on the time passed, we make plans, we hang on to memories.

I do this in regards to my life but also in regards to my blog. Don’t worry, this will not be a review of my blogging year. I’m just not ready to do that yet. It’s more of a review of my approach to blogging. It’s about looking at it in retrospective and making a decision about how to continue.

My approach to blogging has always been a positive one. There have been rants, as you all know. There have been posts that were triggered by something sad. But in general I try to keep a positive spin to my posts. I do this for a very clear reason: I want to always see the positive. And I kind of would like you to do the same. It just makes life easier. I know that certain things simply can’t be changed, no matter how positive our approach is.

It’s not that I think positive thinking can actually move mountains, you know. But it will for sure make the climb up easier. In a way it feels like carrying a backpack along. The more negativity you allow to take over the more it will weigh you down. If you change your way of thinking to a more positive way you will actually feel lighter. At least I do.

That’s what I like to achieve. I like to give you a little bit of lightness. I hope I was able to achieve it with my posts in 2016 and I will for sure aim to do it in 2017.

I want to be that little change. Just like I’ve said already a couple of months back as you can read in this Blast From The Past.

Honestly, I am not sure what kind of change my blog would make in your world, in our world. I guess if I can make you feel better because of a post of mine, then I am super happy.

Writing this blog has given me personally so much and has made a big change in my world already. I feel like I achieve something and I share this achievement with you.

I want to let you know, that we all struggle, that we all have our ups and downs. I decided not to share my downs with you. Not because I don’t want to share it with you or because I think you are not close enough or not worth it. Simply because I believe in a positive attitude. Yes, I ramble. My “down moments” though will be all mine. As I want to move forward and want to stay positive and I know you have your downs. So why put more weight out there instead of trying to lift it in staying positive?

If it helps you, if it makes a change for you, if it takes only as much as a single gram off your shoulder, then I have achieved a lot. And by doing so, I have definitely made my day better.

I believe that you are in charge of your life, that you can decide if you want to live a happy life or not. There are tons of things we can not influence really, but what we can always control is our take on it. And my take on a difficult situation is “Fuck this shit and move on!”

All the issues we struggle with, the things that pull us down, can only pull us down as long as we let it happen. Look at it, acknowledge it and then use it to move on, to make the best out of it and make the next step.

Sometimes it is harder, sometimes it is easier. I am not saying it is always a smooth ride. Hell no! I for sure know well enough that it is not. But we have power to decide if we want to make it harder on us or easier.

Well, that is what I believe. So if I have provoked a thought or two with this, then I probably already have made a little change in someone’s world. And that thought just made me smile a little bit brighter 😉

Have a beautiful (rest of this) day everyone!

In response to the Daily Prompt – Be The Change: What change, big or small, would you like your blog to make in the world?

14 thoughts on “Blast From The Past – Be The Change

  1. You are an amazing inspiration, Sandra! And I like what you wrote here about positive thinking. It doesn’t mean that all problems are just blown away but it makes it a bit easier to deal with them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m on board with this thinking, Sandra. I also have chosen to not post about the negatives, and for sure, we all have them. This has been a difficult year for so many reasons. But, we all survived, and are moving on. Stay positive, the world needs more of that now than ever. Thanks for all you do here. ❤️ 💛 💚 💙 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We can all make the world a better place with our lives, our blogs and our presence. You’ve certainly given me lots to ponder over the years, along with many smiles. Thank you for being a part of this wonderful community.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love that thought. I always have the idea to stay positive, but then I find my blog is my therapy, so sometimes it is just how I am feeling in the moment. But I will endeavor more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

