52 Weeks Photo Challenge: Week 25 – Textures

What a fantastic challenge we are facing in showcasing “texture”! I often find that the things you feel, either in your heart, soul or just simply by touch are the hardest to showcase in pictures. Just because we all experience it slightly different. When I saw the task I closed my eyes for a moment and thought of the first things that came to my mind. And here we go:

I thought of the smooth texture of moss, the little umbrellas of the dandelion carrying the seeds, the softness of a rose pedal, the inside of a shell. I thought of the texture of sand, the warmth and the happy feeling it gives me to put my feet in. What I realized though is how different I experience the texture felt in my mind when thinking of warm sand compared to the cold one in winter… somehow “winter sand” almost feels harder in my mind… I thought about the muddy and slippery texture of a path through a forest after rain, the texture of frozen water on metal, the texture of snow. When it falls freshly or when the wind blows it around.

While I was looking up pictures to showcase my thoughts I found two that I wanted to put up as well as their textures surprised me when I experienced them for the very first time. It’s the texture of a snake’s skin. I thought it would be slimy but it’s actually so beautiful to touch. Same with Kelp. I thought it would feel more like a foul, slimy salad leave but was surprised about how rubbery it was.

This world is full of different textures. We just forget to focus on experience them. I’m thinking of how my keyboard feels right now while typing this and also the glass table. Things I’m usually not aware of. As a little challenge for this week: How about you head out there and focus on all the different textures you experience in one day? Tell me about it, list them, write a post. Just make yourself aware of it once again…

 

 

If you like to join The Girl That Dream’s Awake 52 Week Photo Challenge as well, here’s what to do:

  1. Create a post entitled 52 weeks photo challenge :week (which week)-(the theme for the week.
  2. Create a pingback to this page or leave the link to your post in the comments box.
  3. Tag the post ’52 weeks’

 

 

11 thoughts on “52 Weeks Photo Challenge: Week 25 – Textures

  1. Pingback: Week-25-Textures – The Bag Lady

Leave a Reply

