About The Inner Child

Image result for image inner child

I love Danny’s Question of the Day series on Dream Big, Dream often and I try to visit those posts as often as possible. At the moment I’m so far behind with everything that I only just answered his 3rd of March question and it triggered this post.

Do I think it’s important to keep my inner child alive?

There is only one answer to this question: Hell yeah!

Normally Danny does not give up that easily. He often asks a follow up question. Just like in my case. I love it by the way. It’s that exchange I love so much in this blogging world. The exchange of thoughts between people who have and most likely will never meet. Like minded people exchanging thoughts that make think even more.

So after I answered Danny’s question the follow up question about why I believe so many let that inner child die made me answer the following way:

I think because they enter the rat race and focus on the wrong values. They would love to let their inner child out but are also afraid not to be taken serious anymore. I believe that they are scared that if they are not taken serious they will not be successful. They starve it, suffocate it. Just because they run after the wrong thing. All their life. And then, when they realize that they’ve done it’s too late. There is no going back. When they want to revive their inner child there is usually not much time left for them to do so. It’s down the line of the biggest regrets of the dying…

Image result for image inner child

I took on a casual job again and the last week was crazy again. There are not weekends, there are not business open or close times. I just work from home and I work when there is work to do, which at this point is more or less all the time. It makes me happy but it also exhausts me. So this morning I made a pretty clear decision: Stop! Take a break!

So I answered a couple of work related emails in the early morning (because that’s just me) and then stopped. I took the kids to the beach and just let go. I swam, I played in the water and I made dripdrop sandsculptures (as we call them) with wet sand on the body board sitting in the water with my little girl while my son was exploring the tide pools. We chased the little fishes, giggled and simply had a great time. Then I watched my kids play with each other. My breathing slowed down. I felt good and happy.

It’s all about quality time. Often we chase after something and forget that quality time with each other or sometimes even just with ourselves is one of the most important things to have. One day you will run out of time. Then it will be too late.

So jump in that puddle. Make the silly faces. Act immature. Be a child again. One day it will be too late to try to do it one more time…

Now I wonder what your thoughts are. For both of the questions. Do you think it’s important to keep that inner child alive? And if yes why do you think people tend to let it die?

 

18 thoughts on “About The Inner Child

  1. All very thought provoking Sandra and I tend to agree with what you said. We grow up, grow serious, tend to often forget how to have fun, thinking that life is all about doing the ‘right’ thing. Good on you for kicking back and enjoying quality time with your kids. That’s what it’s all about. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes I so agree, its important to nurture that Inner child.. And to nurture our children to stay children longer.. All too soon they grow up and are put under pressure within the education system..

    I guess you could say Sandra that I am nurturing my inner child again.. As I take time out for ME TIME.. to create and paint. Garden and walk.. Smell the roses.. ( even though they are not out yet lol ) but you get my drift..
    We spend a life time working, often at other peoples beck and call.. We fail to go within and look deeper into our hearts.. To the things we gave up.. Which is why I am nurturing again my artwork..
    Its good to spend Quality Time with our selves.. as we learn to LOVE our Inner Child again and learn its Ok to take time out to PLAY..
    ❀ xxxx ❀ Hugs and have a wonderful rest of your week.. ❀ Sue

    Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t think the inner child dies, it just goes dormant and needs to be revived, resuscitated and/or reawakened. If you are lucky, there will come a time when, as an empty nester like me, you’ll have a lot of time to undertake this effort. Again, if you’re lucky, this will only take a little nudge, which will leave you the energy to play and enjoy as much as you want! At first, I thought this approach I am taking in my retirement was selfish, but am beginning to see that it might really be the exact opposite!

      Liked by 2 people

      • My fledglings long flew the nest πŸ™‚ and now I am retired too, spend my days nurturing myself, At first when one has all the extra time for oneself, yes you do feel a little selfish.. but one learns πŸ™‚ … The importance of working upon ourselves.. Many thanks hbsuefred .. And long may we continue to see that by embracing our own inner peace and what brings that peace.. We are also helping the wider world with the peace we bring into it.. πŸ™‚
        Wishing you a most Peaceful Sunday πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m just 31 and I have learnt the hard way. For me, time is of the essence and I have learnt to put work aside and focus on my family and my inner child ❀..hehehe. I used to be all work work work and it got me nowhere, in 5 months of work-life balance, I have achieved so much I couldn’t achieve in 10 years. I miss your posts, I haven’t been doing much reading online.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved your post and agree with you that people focus on serious things and forget to play. I’ve been playing this week with a grandchild. He is 21 years old, but we laugh at silly things together, sometimes almost erasing the age difference.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Really great post. So important to stop and look around us.

    Your link worked great!
    Best of luck in the Challenge!
    Heather
    Co-Host, 2017 Blogging from A to Z April Challenge

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I once read a book by thich nhat hann called “Reconciliation: Healing the Inner Child”. Your post is so true in its picture of inner child. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

