Share Your World – March 27th, 2017

local2

It’s a beautiful Tuesday morning over here in sunny Australia. While we enjoy calm fall weather down here in the South, up in North Queensland people brace for the landfall of a huge cyclone. My thoughts are with all the people that will be in the middle of it and I hope everyone will get out of it safe and sound.

I’ve never lived in an area where natural disasters were common. All we got from time to time where avalanches on top of the mountains and while sometimes those let to people being injured or killed it was still something that happened only on top of the mountain. I’m not sure if I could deal with living in an area where you know that a cyclone, a hurricane or a typhoon hits. I’m not sure if I could deal with strong earthquakes on a regular basis while you wait for THE one. Sitting here, typing this and having a cup of tea while listening to a bird singing its song outside and not having to worry about something you can’t control is how I like it.

And just right now I thought that there is so much I can’t control. Not just the weather, not just the earth as such. Nothing is really in my control and yet I believe it is. We are only in control of our actions. And maybe that’s also why people get used to the storms and the earthquakes, the returning floods and fires. Because they have realized that there is nothing out there that you can actually control. That the only thing you can control is how you deal with it and where you will go from there.

Funny where an intro to Cee’s Share Your World post can take you. In a way I just had one of those realizations by simply writing an intro. And now my head is processing it all. Time to get to Cee’s questions I guess and let’s see where they will take me this time πŸ˜‰

Does your first or middle name have any significance (or were you named after another family member)?
Not that I know of. It was simply given to me as an option to my first first name. So in case I would not like my first name I could just take on the second one. I believe that was the theory. Which doesn’t work and will never work as I actually really dislike my second name. And I always liked my first name. I wonder why you would think that someone would not like their first name. And if so, why they then would like their second one better. And then once they decide they like their second name better I guess you would just turn it around and make it your first one. I wonder if you would keep the one you don’t like or if you would replace it with a different option? Anyone out there who never liked their name? Have you had a name change?

Image result for image what's in a name

Would I actually consider a proper name change? In a way I had one when I got married and took on my husbands last name. It was a bit weird. As your name is part of you and when you carry it for a while and then change it it does feel a bit odd. Then you get over it. So maybe it’s the same with your first name…

Music or silence while working?
More often silence than music. Although it’s never really silent here. There is always something going on. The cat that goes crazy, the dogs that bark at that one bird that is teasing them sitting on the fence. Or the birds singing outside. But I guess that’s why I actually enjoy the “silence” to music as I hear the world.

If you had a special place for your three most special possessions (not including photos, electronics, people or animals), what would they be?
I would not even know which ones would be my most special possessions besides my photos, the pets and the family I have (although I don’t consider them possessions). I think I’m just simply not a “thing” person but also the one thing that is closest to my heart is my wedding ring and a necklace and I do wear those all the time, so I guess they have found their special place.

The Never List: What are things you know you never will do?
I think the never list is a dangerous thing. You can easily get burnt by claiming that you would never do a certain thing. One of the innocent examples hits me almost on a daily basis being a mom now. I remember how I’ve sworn to me and also communicated pretty confidently that I would never ever do certain things when a parent. And I’ve done them all. Almost all of them.

But you want an answer of course, so let me try: I guess one thing that I think pretty strongly I will never to is hurting a living being on purpose. Physically or mentally. I will never do anything that is going against my deepest values. But then I also know that life is a b**** sometimes and maybe one day you feel forced to go against your values. Like when you suddenly find yourself in the situation that you have to defend your family’s life and your life. I would think that I would never ever kill someone. But if someone tries to kill one of my children I most certainly would do whatever it takes to protect them. I crazy example but this is life as well. And that’s why I believe the never list is a tricky list to keep…

Optional Bonus question: Β What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?Β 
I will be lazy again and simply share the link to my Tell Me Something Good post here.

041514 sywbanner

15 thoughts on “Share Your World – March 27th, 2017

  1. Names are funny things. I was named Elizabeth Anne, but always called Anne. There was no way I wanted anyone to call me Elizabeth. That was my mother’s name, and in the South people called her Luz-buth. Yuck! I loved my mother, but not her name.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Feeling with you, Sandra! While typing the comment I am sitting in the warm spring sun, smelling nature coming to life again and hearing the birds sing all around me… and the only thing we occasionally have to deal with is the FΓΆhn.
    I also feel with you regarding never doing the same things my parents did…. lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

