Blast From The Past – Who Was In The Car?

I had a couple of sleepless nights over the last weeks. It happens. The mind wanders and once it starts heading out there it doesn’t stop. The things I hear become stories, I wonder what is going on out there, who is still up and why and where are they heading. Sometimes I think books could be written by simply writing down what I’m thinking is going on. Maybe I should. Do you do it too? Think about what they do and why they are out there? Why the car speeds up or slows down at 2am? Who might be in there?

Here is a Blast From The Past about my sleepless nights…

Saturday night I didn’t sleep well. I woke up at 3am and just couldn’t fall asleep anymore. Not because I started thinking and over-thinking but just because I wasn’t tired anymore. Does that happen to you too sometimes?

While I was lying there, trying to fall asleep again or just to relax I started listening to what was going on outside. At this time of the night there is usually not much happening in our neighborhood. Every now and then, though, I could hear a car. And I started wondering who would be driving that car and why.

Maybe it was a young couple on their way home from partying (hopefully the driver didn’t drink…), chatting away, talking about their friends and the fantastic time they all just had.

Maybe it was a young guy on his way home from going out. Heartbroken because the girl he liked didn’t pay attention to him, or at least not the kind of attention he would have loved to get.

Maybe it was a young woman on her way home, heartbroken because she caught the man she loves with someone else.

Maybe it was a group of criminals on their way to a break in.

Maybe it was a security guard on his way home from his shift.

Maybe it was a traveler who just got picked up by a cap from the airport.

Or the couple on the way to hospital to give birth to the first child…

So many different things that could go on while you are in bed. So many different stories to be told, to be heard, to be written.Ā  One car and yet all those different options and I’m far from covering them all. So many different things that go on at any given time.

I wonder: Who do you think was driving around at 3am on a Sunday morning?

6 thoughts on “Blast From The Past – Who Was In The Car?

  1. I remember you writing this one! I found it fascinating that you were thinking up stories at 3am about why there were cars on the road at that hour. Very clever. Perhaps it was someone else who just couldn’t sleep so they drove around to make people wonder why they were out driving at 3am.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

