Wonder Women

Image result for image wonder woman

No, it’s not a spelling mistake in my title. Although this post is inspired by the movie “Wonder Woman” I’d like to write about wonder women.

Last week my daughter and I had a girls night out to the movies, watching “Wonder Woman”. I’m sure most of you have watched it by now and for those of you who have not, please forgive me when I go into details (or stop reading now). First of all: What an amazing movie! I heard from a couple of my friends about it and every single one told me how amazing and inspiring the movie is. So I was really looking forward to it, wondering if I would find it as amazing as they did.

So here it is: From the beginning to the end it is amazing. It shows the stages of a growing woman, how she builds and discovers her strength and growths into the superhero she then is. It’s about painful realizations, love, trust, disappointments and believing in things that don’t seem so obvious. I realize I have not given away too much yet. So maybe the spoiler alert was not necessary.

Anyway. My daughter and I left the movie both inspired but also feeling like heading home cuddling up and have a good cry. A good cry. Not only in the sense of crying really hard but also feeling positive about it in a way. Not going into details of the why here. Those of you who have seen the movie will know and the others: Go watch the movie, even if you are not a superhero fan!

It was the response to a remark I made that made me think about wonder women. I said something down the line of “shame she was not pregnant” and the response of my girl shook me a little bit: “Mom! It’s Wonder Woman! Wonder Woman is not supposed to have babies!”

My brain started going nuts. Why is she saying that? Is it because Wonder Woman is strong, a superhero, beautiful, smart, everything you can possibly dream off? Is it that a woman like that is not the picture of a mother? Or is it that what mothers do is not perceived as superpowers but just normal? All those kind of negative things crossed my mind.

And then I pulled the break. I had to scream stop at me as loud as possible (only in my head…). What was I doing?! Wonder Woman is not supposed to have babies. It’s because she is a superhero and because she is that kind of superhero our kids need and want to have in their lives. The kind that never ages, always succeeds, always is on top of things and is liked by everyone. Why? Just because we need figures like these to look up to.

It’s not a competition between us normal women and Wonder Woman. We, too, need her. We, too, as grown ups, need to look up to her. We, too, need her as inspiration. As our push in the rear end. Wonder Woman doesn’t need to have babies because we have them. While she “looks after us” in being a role model and inspiring us, we look after her in raising strong girls. Strong women. Wonder women. Who then continue to be wonder women. Who continue to be smart and pretty and strong. Who maybe one day will have babies. And then will raise their girls to be wonder women. Strong, smart and determined.

We are Wonder Woman. Every single one of us. We don’t look like her? Does it matter? We are all pretty in our own way! We are not as smart as she is? What makes you think that? Every decision we make on every given day is important for our family. Some might not consider it being smart, but I do. We have to make smart choices in order to make sure our children are well looked after and our family life runs well. And most of all: We can’t fight like her? Try us! We will fight like Wonder Woman if what we love is threatened.

We are Wonder Woman. Each and everyone of us.

Image result for quotes protecting children

16 thoughts on “Wonder Women

  1. Remember, and remind your daughter, that Wonder Woman had a mother who, although I have not seen the movie, was probably also a role model for her daughter. This fact is what prompted me, when I was a working mom, to say that I wore an “S” on my chest. I was a Superwoman who did it all! It’s also why I became interested in learning and writing about women who worked in male-dominated, generally technical and scientific fields on which the community where I now live, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, was established, while at the same time being responsible for raising children and running the home. I have finally completed an entry about one of these Secret City Superwomen which was published as a series in the local newspaper, the Oak Ridger, in the column usually written by the town’ historian.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

