Share Your World – October 2nd, 2017


I’m overdue for my favourite Q&A of the week. Fee is posing some intriguing questions week after week and I’m so ready for them. If you have not checked out her Share Your World challenge yet, you should definitely do it…

If you were given the opportunity to ride in a helicopter would go?

Yes, I would. But with mixed feelings. I had the opportunity once many years ago as teenager, when my dad took us on a helicopter ride when we were on vacation. It was stunning but I got so sick that the moment we touched down I had to… well you know. As I had felt such for 45min of the 60min ride my memory of the ride is not about the stunning views but about not feeling well…

What are some of your favorite type of proteins to eat? (meat, seafood, eggs, soy, cheese, nuts)

I admit: I love my meat. I love beef, lamb, chicken and even kangaroo. I have eaten horse meat, which I would not do again just because. And I love venison. I love seafood as much as meat and chicken. I love eggs and cheese (hey I’m Swiss). I’d say I’m the nightmare of every vegetarian, most likely vegan too. I love nuts but I hate tofu and Soja is not my favourite either.

At the same time I struggle with the idea of how animals get treated when they are bread for slaughtering… I struggle with the fact that even cage free and so called free range eggs don’t nessessarely mean that the chicken have actually the amount of space to roam free I’d like them to have. I struggle with the fact that I’m guilty for issues caused on many levels. But I’m not ready yet to give up on eating all of this. Selfish? Yes…


What would be your preference, awake before dawn, at dawn, or awake before noon?

When getting up before dawn, which I (have) to do some times, I often think I should do this more often. But to be honest: I find it incredibly hard. Getting up at dawn is more down my sleeve. And I do enjoy my late mornings too. It doesn’t mean that I’m sleeping till noon. I’d wake up early anyway but would stay in bed and read. Or even write a blog post. It’s the kind of mornings you decide to take everything slower. Usually those days tend to bite me in my rear end as I suddenly feel time slipped away from me. But they are as much needed as the very early ones every now and then.

What inspired you or what did you appreciate this past week? Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

You are probably not aware of it but down here in Australia we are currently “voting” in a plebiscite about same sex marriage. While it will not mean that same sex marriage will become legal if the majority votes yes, it will put a lot of pressure on the government to finally make it legal. Personally I find it incredible that people think they have the right to decide over who others are allowed to marry and who not. So therefore my vote was a clear yes in favour for making everyone equal.

But, as always, there are of course others. And sadly their excuse is always coming from the religious corner. Personally I find it ridiciulous that you preach love and kindness and then behave hateful and intolerant if something is not up your sleeve. Especially as for me this is not about changing the bible. This is about changing laws and giving everyone the same rights.

My inspiration goes out to everyone who has the decency to know that it’s not our place to allow or not allow people to get married just because some might not consider their relationship “normal”. It goes out to everyone who knows that Love is Love. And to everyone who dares saying it. My inspiration is seeing our big cities in rainbow colours, making a statement. It’s seeing businesses making a statement and putting rainbow colors out there. And I hope Australia listens…

4 thoughts on “Share Your World – October 2nd, 2017

  1. The only way I would ride in a helicopter would be if I had to be airlifted because of some sort of emergency. Forest fire. Snake bite in the middle of the Amazon. And even then maybe not.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

