13 Simple Blogging Tips

Some good points here!

Dream Big, Dream Often

5

Here are a few tips I offer to some of my fellow bloggers. Most of these I list because I have noticed numerous issues during my morning reading.

Here are my 13 simple blogging tips:

  1. Use spell check and proofread your writing before hitting send.  I forget about this one sometimes and allow simple errors to publish.
  2. Keep posts to between 400-1200 words max if you post often.  If you post less frequently, then aim for 2,000 words or so.  I know Google gives more validity to posts that are longer, but your readers will get tired of reading extremely long, frequent posts.  That is unless they are incredibly helpful or super interesting.
  3. Post consistently throughout the day: 5 posts per day is my target.
  4. Don’t try to out think the room.  Meaning: stop stringing complicated themes together with even more complicated words. Keep your writing style simple and don’t…

View original post 339 more words

11 thoughts on “13 Simple Blogging Tips

  1. Please don’t take this the wrong way – but I find your tips are only for those with certain aims!
    I get what you mean by keeping the length reasonable – but also feel that if someone is writing what they want to write – I would rather have them make it the length it should be and then allow folks to skim or come back later – because people often do that.

    Further – spell check does not always catch errors – like I recently found “Th” after spell checking twice – and proofing – and then I can only proof so much – I would rather post with an error – which is usually auto correct related – rather than lose too much time to arduous proofing – because informal posts have the grace of revisions- although I stopped following a blogger who has such horrid grammar it was painful.

    But five posts a day? Oh wow – that is a lot of posting – and good for you- but I think it is a matter of what your goals are as a blogger and what your personal needs are.
    Like to suggest to not over use a theme or keep it a certain length could rob someone of their essence and what I have come to love about blogging is the diversity – and putting everyone into a length and theme use would be b-flat! And more is not always better and some of us would rather have 5 sincere readers say her than cater to the mass – do you know what I mean?

    And what I sometimes prefer are bloggers who post once a week! And then Mabel is down to about once a month and her comments have grown to become discussion – which is so rich and unique –
    Anyhow – I personally think thrice a week is the perfect amount for me to put out posts –
    Anyhow – had to share that – but glad you found what works for you 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know what? Just write when you feel like it and about whatever you want to write about. In your style. I think that is one of the most important things. Love your blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

